The Cincinnati Bengals cut roster to 53

08/30/2014 03:48 PM

Today, the Bengals made 18 roster moves to reach the NFL limit 53-man roster.

The team placed guard Trey Hopkins on the reserve/injured list and quarterback AJ McCarron on the reserve/non-football injury list. McCarron may not practice for the first six weeks of the regular season but will remain with the team for rehab and meetings.

Cincinnati terminated the contracts of veterans Danieal Manning (safety) and Will Svitek (offensive tackle). They also moved cornerback Chris Lewis-Harris to the reserve/suspended by commissioner list.

Finally, the Bengals waived 13 players, including: H-back Orson Charles, OT Dan France, WR Cobi Hamilton, CB Victor Hampton, DT David King, WR Colin Lockett, CB Onterio McCalebb, DE Dontay Moch, DE Sam Montgomery, C Trevor Robinson, DT Devon Still, FB Nikita Whitlock and HB James Wilder. They also waived CB Lavelle Westbrooks from the reserve/injured list with an injury settlement. All players waived today will be eligible to be signed to an NFL practice squad if they clear waivers tomorrow.

The Bengals will announce a practice squad of up to 10 players tomorrow.

Kaci Kust

Kaci is a Production Specialist based out of the Northern Kentucky Spectrum News bureau. When she’s not working at the station she is covering high school sports, Bengals or EKU games for Sports Night, which airs weeknights at 6:30 and 10:30 on Spectrum News. She played basketball for Hope College in Michigan where she earned a degree in journalism. She says if she wasn’t covering athletics for a living, she’d still be up early checking scores and stats. You can get the latest on the Bengals, EKU or high school sports in Northern Kentucky by following Kaci on Twitter @Kacikust.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest Sports Night info delivered to your inbox.