NCAA FOOTBALL | Paul Hornung Award Watch List Revealed

07/17/2017 10:29 AM

Forty-six football players were named to the 2017 Paul Hornung Award Watch List on Monday morning.

The award is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by football legend Paul Hornung, along with the Louisville Sports Commission.

The 2017 Watch List was determined “by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2016 statistics, career performance, SID recommendations, and expectations heading into the 2017 season.”

Two Bluegrass college football stars made the Watch List.

One of them is Louisville cornerback and punt returner Jaire Alexander. On defense last year, Alexander led the Cards with five interceptions. He also had 39 tackles and one forced fumble.

As a punt returner, he finished the season 15th in the country with a 10.5 yard return average, which included a punt return for a touchdown against Florida St.

WKU receiver and punt returner Nacarius Fant, who only played in nine games last season, also made the list. He was the Toppers’ third-leading receiver last year with 29 catches for 407 yards and two touchdowns.

Fant found plenty of success fielding punts too. He had 11 returns on the season, totally 172 yards. Two of the returns were taken back for touchdowns.

This year’s Watch List features:

  • Jaire Alexander, Louisville
  • Kalen Ballage, Arizona State
  • Braxton Berrios, Miami
  • Evan Berry, Tennessee
  • Antonio Callaway, Florida
  • Parris Campbell, Ohio State
  • Andrew Celis, Nevada
  • Jared Cornelius, Arkansas
  • Nacarius Fant, WKU
  • Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
  • George Frazier, Colorado
  • LaQuivonte Gonzalez, Kansas
  • Janarion Grant, Rutgers
  • Derrius Guice, LSU
  • Quadree Henderson, Pitt
  • Derwin James, Florida State
  • Richie James, Middle Tennessee
  • D’Ernest Johnson, USF
  • Kerryon Johnson, Auburn
  • Xaiver Johnson, South Alabama
  • Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
  • Keith Kirkwood, Temple
  • DJ Moore, Maryland
  • Jamal Morrow, Washington State
  • Charles Nelson Oregon
  • Rashaad Penny, San Diego State
  • Dante Pettis, Washington
  • Darius Phillips, Western Michigan
  • Tony Pollard, Memphis
  • De’Mornay Pierson-El, Nebraska
  • Byron Pringle, Kansas State
  • Trever Ryen, Iowa State
  • Deebo Samuel, South Carolina
  • Jaylen Samuels, NC State
  • Jeff Smith, Boston College
  • Allenzae Staggers, Southern Mississippi
  • Greg Stroman, Virginia Tech
  • Blaise Taylor, Arkansas State
  • Kavontae Turpin, TCU
  • Tre Watson, California
  • Braeden West, SMU
  • Jordan Whitehead, Pitt
  • Christian Wilkins, Clemson
  • Devonte Williams, Indiana
  • Cedrick Wilson, Boise State
  • Shaun Wilson, Duke

Last season, Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers took home the 2016 Paul Hornung Award.

The Paul Hornung Award Banquet will be held on March 8, 2018 at Louisville’s Galt House Hotel.

Andrew Chernoff

Andrew is a sports anchor and sports managing editor for Spectrum News. He covers sports all across the state of Kentucky for Sports Night, which airs weeknights at 6:30 and 10:30 on Spectrum News. Andrew was a sports anchor and reporter at KFDM/KBTV in Beaumont, Texas for four years before making the move back home to the Midwest. He is originally from Carmel, Indiana and majored in broadcast journalism and political science at Syracuse University.

When he’s not on the air or in the field covering sports, you can likely find Andrew playing golf, watching IndyCar and Formula 1 races, or exploring the state of Kentucky. His favorite sport is open-wheel racing. In fact, he has not missed an Indianapolis 500 since the early 2000s.

Whether he is working sporting events or not, he always loves talking sports. He is a prolific tweeter, so if you want to stay “in the know” about sports in the Bluegrass, follow Andrew on Twitter @ADChernoff. If you have a story idea for our sports team, send it to Andrew at


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest Sports Night info delivered to your inbox.