Stumbo names three official and one ex-officio member to heroin bill oversight committee

05/28/2015 02:19 PM

State Rep. Denny Butler has been named a co-chairman of a committee overseeing the implementation of a wide-ranging heroin bill that passed in this year’s legislative session.

Butler, D-Louisville, will join Rep. Joni Jenkins, D-Shively, and Rep. David Floyd, R-Bardstown, on the Senate Bill 192 Implementation Oversight Committee, House Speaker Greg Stumbo’s office announced Thursday. House Judiciary Committee Chairman John Tilley, D-Hopkinsville, will serve as an ex-officio member of the panel.

“I’m proud to serve as the committee’s co-chairman, because making sure this law fulfills its potential is crucial,” Butler said in a statement. “All of us serving on this committee feel the same way, and I’m looking forward to serving with them.”

SB 192 includes increased penalties for heroin traffickers, local-option needle exchanges, no-charge Good Samaritan provisions, expanded access to the overdose-reversing drug Naloxone, and directed $10 million in the current fiscal year and $24 million annually thereafter for various treatment options.

“These legislators had a direct hand in crafting this new law and understand the issue well,” Stumbo said in a statement. “I’m confident they will make sure the law is carried out as we in the legislature have envisioned.”

The SB 192 Implementation Oversight Committee will consist of Butler, Jenkins, Floyd and Sen. Chris McDaniel, R-Taylor Mill, Sen. Whitney Westerfield, R-Hopkinsville, and Sen. Morgan McGarvey, D-Louisville, and review the new law in this year’s legislative interim. McDaniel will serve as co-chairman, according to Senate Republican spokesman John Cox.

Gov. Steve Beshear signed the bill, which included an emergency provision to take effect immediately upon Beshear’s signature, into law March 25.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.