State Senate primary race results

05/22/2012 06:00 PM

(9:00 p.m.) — In the 19th Senate Democratic primary in Louisville, 97% of precincts reported calling for McGarvey with 41% of the vote and Sarah Lynn Cunningham falling short with 34%, Shoemaker 15%, and Demling 10%.

The winner of the 17th District Republican primary is incumbent Daymon Thayer. Thayer defeated Rick Hosteler, a tea party activist, with 63% of the total vote.

Chris McDaniel of the 23rd State Senate district was the winner of the Republican primary with 62% of the vote over opponent Will Terwort. McDaniel will face Democrat James Noll in the general election in November.

(7:30 p.m.) — In the 35th Senate Dist. incumbent state Sen. Denise Harper Angel has jumped out to a commanding lead with 83% of the vote. Challenger Curtis Morrison has 17% of the vote with 61% of precincts reporting.

(7:23 p.m.) —In the 19th Senate Dist. Democratic primary Morgan McGarvey, a lawyer from Louisville, has started to pull away from other competitors with 25 of the 99 precincts reporting. McGarvey is leading with 43% of the vote, Sarah Lynn Cunningham has 28%, Amy Shoemaker 17%, and Gary Demling 13%.

(6:01 p.m.)— Polls close in eastern part of the state. We will be updating on several big races, including the Democratic primary in the 19th state Senate district in Louisville and the 23rd district Republican primary in Kenton County. Both of those races are for open seats. And the 19th district race will determine the next senator because no Republican has filed.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.