Special Elections called for March 8 to replace four House members

01/04/2016 07:22 PM

A special election has been called for March 8 to replace four state House members who have won higher office and others who have been placed within Gov. Matt Bevin’s administration.

Two Democrats, former Representatives John Tilley of Hopkinsville and Tanya Pullin of South Shore left their districts thanks to appointments and movement from Bevin and the GOP.

Tilley was appointed by Bevin as the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet secretary in early December, a move which drew the ire of House Speaker Greg Stumbo, D-Prestonstburg.

Tilley’s district is the 8th House district comprised of part of Christian and part of Trigg Counties.

Pullin accepted a position as an an administrative law judge — a post some said Pullin had been seeking before the gubernatorial election.

The 98th district Pullin vacates includes part of Boyd and all of Greenup Counties.

Two Republicans will also be replaced in the Special Election to fill the expiring terms of Auditor Mike Harmon and Agriculture Commissioner Ryan Quarles — both former House members.

The 54th District Harmon vacates is comprised of Boyle and Casey County. Quarles’ former district is the 62nd House Dist. which encompasses part of Fayette, Owen, and part of Scott Counties.

Bevin confirmed the writ of election to Pure Politics in the Capitol on Monday morning following the swearing in of constitutional officers. He told reporters that he is seeking conservatives to fill those positions, and added he will be assisting in the political process.

“I want ideologically aligned people. I want conservative people,” Bevin told reporters. “I want people in those seats that will represent the people of Kentucky, and I will do everything in my power to make sure that the people who I think embody the values that I was elected to represent are elected.”

Bevin went on to predict that the GOP would win those seats, and he would assist in the process.

The task of finding candidates, if they’ve not been identified already, falls to the Republican and Democratic parties, and independent candidates to nominate and file certificates, petitions and decelerations to the Secretary of State by Jan. 19 at 4 p.m. eastern time.

Write-in candidates must file declarations of intent to be write-in candidates no later than Feb. 9 at 4 p.m, according to a press release.

“I look forward to working with the county clerks in the affected counties,” Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes said in a statement. “And I hope all eligible voters in these House districts will participate in the March 8 special elections to choose their new state representatives.”


Nick Storm

Nick Storm is the Anchor and Managing Editor of Pure Politics available exclusively on Spectrum News. Pure Politics is the only nightly program dedicated to Kentucky politics. Nick covers all of the political heavyweights and his investigative work brings to light issues that might otherwise go unnoticed, like his coverage of the backlog of DNA rape kits waiting to be tested in Kentucky. Nick is also working on a feature length bio documentary Outlaw Poet: A documentary on Ron Whitehead. Pure Politics airs weeknight at 7 and 11:30 on Spectrum News. Follow Nick on Twitter @NStorm_Politics. Nick can be reached at 502-792-1107 or nicholas.storm@charter.com.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.