Leadership stays the same for Senate GOP caucus heading towards 2017 session

11/22/2016 09:03 AM

Without much fanfare, the Senate Republican caucus re-elected their leadership team on Monday.

The entire team of leaders includes Senate President Robert Stivers, Senate President Pro Tem David Givens, Majority Floor Leader Damon Thayer, Majority Caucus Chair Dan Seum and Majority Whip Jimmy Higdon. All were unopposed in this round of leadership elections.

“I am excited to be working with such a strong group of leaders for the next two years,” Stivers said in a press release. “With a new majority in the House and Republican Matt Bevin in the Governor’s Office, I look forward working with Kentucky’s leaders to move our great Commonwealth in the right direction.”

Stivers and Givens will go before the entire 38-member Senate to be elected during the first day of the 2017 legislative session in January.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.