Jones, Carroll re-elected to Senate Democratic leadership team while Ridley replaces Neal as caucus chair

12/16/2016 02:02 PM

Senate Democrats re-elected two-thirds of their leadership team during caucus elections in Frankfort on Friday.

Senate Minority Floor Leader Ray Jones, D-Pikeville, and Senate Minority Whip Julian Carroll, D-Frankfort, will again serve in Democratic leadership in the upper chamber while Sen. Dorsey Ridley, D-Henderson, won his race for minority caucus chair, the Democratic caucus announced in a news release.

That spot had been held by Sen. Gerald Neal, D-Louisville. The leadership team will serve two-year terms.

The 2017 General Assembly will convene Jan. 3.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.