House GOP establishes 'ranking members' to stay on top of legislation in committee

02/09/2015 10:56 AM

The House Republican leadership team is adding newly created positions of “ranking members” in House committees to keep on top of the issues moving through the legislature this session.

The positions essentially act as point persons in each committee, who will read and report the bills back to GOP caucus.

“The persons we have selected as ranking members for House committees will be our point person on issues and bills that come before their respective committee,” said Rep. Jeff Hoover, R-Jameston, in a statement to Pure Politics. “They will be expected to thoroughly understand each and every proposal that could be considered. They will be reporting back to House Republican Leadership on all bills assigned in their committees, and we also expect them to be prepared to report to the full 46-member House Republican Caucus as needed.

“We will be relying on their expertise and knowledge of bills specific to their committees, and we are fully confident the members we have appointed will do so in a way that will make our caucus better.”

The ranking members named to House committees are:

• Agriculture and small business: Rep. James Tipton, R-Taylorsville

• Appropriations and revenue: Rep. Steven Rudy, R-West Paducah

• Banking and insurance: Rep. Bart Rowland, R-Tompkinsville

• Economic development: Rep. Russell Webber, R-Shepherdsville

• Education: Rep. Jill York, R-Grayson

• Elections: Rep. Mike Harmon, R-Danville

• Health and welfare: Rep. Robert Benvenuti, R-Lexington

• Judiciary: Rep. Joe Fischer, R-Ft. Thomas

• Labor and industry: Rep. Tom Kerr, R-Taylor Mill

• Licensing and occupations: Rep. Addia Wuchner, R-Burlington

• Local government: Rep. Michael Meredith, R-Brownsville

• Natural resources and environment: Rep. Tim Couch, R-Hyden

• State government: Rep. Kenny Imes, R-Murray

• Tourism development and energy: Rep. Brian Linder, R-Dry Ridge

• Transportation: Rep. David Floyd, R-Bardstown

• Veterans: Rep. Tim Moore, R-Elizabethtown

In addition House Republican Leadership also named the five freshman members of their caucus as deputy whips, who will assist House Republican Whip Jim DeCesare, R-Bowling Green, with his duties.

“These new roles will help our five freshman members develop knowledge and leadership skills to better serve their districts and the caucus as a whole,” DeCesare said in a news release. “We are confident in their abilities in taking on this new role in addition to their duties to those they serve on House committees.”

The five freshmen and newly named Republican deputy whips are:

• Rep. Jim DuPlessis, R-Elizabethtown

• Rep. David Hale, R-Wellington

• Rep. Jerry Miller, R-Louisville

• Rep. Phil Moffett, R-Louisville

• Rep. James Tipton, R-Taylorsville


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.