GOP majority names 2017 - 2018 committee chairs

12/07/2016 04:51 PM

BOWLING GREEN — House Republican leaders spent three days combing through their now 64 member strong majority in an effort to find the best members for each of the key positions.

House Speaker-elect Jeff Hoover, R-Jamestown, spoke to reporters by phone after the GOP’s caucus in western Kentucky detailing the members in each position, and the changes to the committees — including one new committee.

“We took a lot of time at our retreat, actually about three days to talk about who is the best person — who is the best fit for each of these committees and budget review subcommittees, and we had a really good meeting,” Hoover told reporters. “I think our leadership team is very confident in the abilities in each one of these that was chosen and what they bring to that particular committee.”

“Obviously, in all of these we have a learning curve, even though most of the committee chairs and budget review committee folks have been around we have never been in the position of actually leading the charges in the committee or budget review subcommittee.”

Standing Committees:

Agriculture: Richard Heath, Mayfield
Appropriations & Revenue: Steven Rudy, Paducah
Banking & Insurance: Bart Rowland, Tompkinsville
Economic Development & Workforce Investment: Jim DeCesare, Bowling Green
Education: John Carney, Campbellsville
Elections, Constitutional Amendments & Intergovernmental Affairs: Kenny Imes, Murray
Enrollment: Donna Mayfield, Winchester
Heath & Family Services: Addia Wuchner, Florence
Judiciary: Joe Fischer, Ft. Thomas
Licensing, Occupations & Administrative Regulations: Adam Koenig, Erlanger
Local Government: Michael Lee Meredith, Brownsville
Natural Resources & Energy: Jim Gooch, Providence
Small Business & Information Technology: Diane St. Onge, Lakeside Park
State Government: Jerry T. Miller, Eastwood
Tourism & Outdoor Recreation: Tommy Turner, Somerset
Transportation: Marie Rader, Mckee
Veterans, Military Affairs & Public Protection: Tim Moore, Elizabethtown

Budget Review Sub Committees:

Economy, Public Protection, Tourism & Energy: Jill York, Grayson
Personnel, Public Retirement & Finance: Brian Linder, Dry Ridge
General Government (Including Coal Severance): Suzanne Miles, Owensboro
Justice, Public Safety & Judiciary: Jason Nemes, Louisville
Primary/Secondary Education & Workforce Development: Regina Bunch, Williamsburg
PostSecondary Education: James Tipton, Taylorsville
Transportation: Sal Santoro, Florence
Health & Family Services: Russell Webber, Shepherdsville

Statutory Committees:
Administrative Regulation Review: Ken Upchurch, Monticello
Government Contract Review: Stan Lee, Lexington
Program Review & Investigations: Lynn Bechler, Marion
Capital Planning Advisory Board: Daniel Elliott, Danville
Capital Projects & Bond Oversight: Phil Moffett, Louisville
Public Pension Oversight: Brian Linder, Dry Ridge
Tobacco Settlement Oversight: Myron Dossett, Pembroke
Education Assessment & Accountability Review: Daniel Elliott, Danville
Medicaid Oversight & Advisory: Kim Moser, Taylor Mill

Special Committees & Task Forces:

LRC Committee on Tourism & Development: Ken Upchurch, Monticello
Special Subcommittee on Energy: Tim Couch, Hyden
Federal Environment Regulation Impact Assessment Task Force: Tim Couch, Hyden
Free-Roaming Horse Task Force: John Blanton, Salyersville
Government Nonprofit Contracting Task Force: Brandon Reed, Hodgenville
Heroin Task Force: Danny Bentley, Russell
Workers’ Compensation Task Force: Matt Castlen, Maceo


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.