Despite no major elections in 2017, Fancy Farm gears up for 137th picnic

07/26/2017 05:46 PM

FANCY FARM – On Saturday, August 5, the political spotlight will be on Fancy Farm in rural Graves County for the 137th annual Fancy Farm Picnic.

While there are no elections taking place this year, many state and local politicians and their supporters will still travel to the tiny town to trade insults and partake in the barbeque in a tradition which dates back to 1880.

Mark Wilson, who is political chair of the event, and has been attending the picnic since he was young boy, notes that one of the biggest changes over the years has been the actions of folks who are working for their particular candidates.

“It has become much more organized and choreographed, more so if you are a candidate,” Wilson said. “If you are a candidate for a major office, you’re going to bus in your supporters. They’ll set up off the grounds somewhere and they start the choreography. They’re trained on it, and they go through rehearsals of what they’re going to do out here under that political pavilion.”

This year, Gov. Matt Bevin and Lt. Gov. Janean Hampton have indicated that they will not attend the picnic.

While Wilson is disappointed by their decision, he admits that it has happened occasionally in the past.

“Brereton Jones missed a time or two, and I’m sure some other ones have missed, but most of the sitting officials, the governors and our federal delegation, the Senators and the Congressman, most of them make it most of the time,” Wilson said. “Sure, it’s a little disappointing to us as organizers, but we expect that from time to time so, we don’t lose a lot of sleep over that.”

The following have indicated that they will be speaking at the picnic.

State Sen. Stan Humphries, State Rep. Richard Heath, Congressman James Comer, Speaker of the House Jeff Hoover, House Minority Leader Rocky Adkins, Attorney General Andy Beshear, Commissioner of Agriculture Ryan Quarles, and Auditor Mike Harmon.

Wilson is still waiting for confirmation from U.S. Senators Mitch McConnell and Rand Paul, Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes, Treasurer Alison Ball, and Senate President Robert Stivers.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.