Candidate filing roundup: Political effects of redistricting already being felt with early filings

11/18/2013 12:49 PM

While legislative leaders in August touted the redrawn legislative maps as being close to the old maps, some of the changes have clearly inspired the first batch of candidates since the filing period began Nov. 6.

A first rush of candidates have swooped in to be first to file in newly created House districts, such as one in eastern Jefferson County (the 36th), one in Anderson, Spencer and Bullitt counties (the 53rd) and one opened by a retirement (10th). Pure Politics previously reported on the two former state representatives who could face off next fall in another newly opened district in west Bullitt County (the 49th).

Several Democratic challengers are emerging in districts held by Republican incumbents in districts that became slightly more competitive. And one Republican state representative who was drawn into a House district against a GOP colleague already has filed to challenge a Democratic leader.

State Senate

6th — Republican Rep. C.B. Embry of Butler County has filed for the newly-drawn 6th Senate District seat held by Democratic Sen. Jerry Rhoads of Madisonville, who is the Senate Democratic whip. Embry was drawn into the same state House District as one his fellow House Republicans, Rep. Jim DeCeseare, and said after the redistricting special session in August that he would run for the Senate seat. The 6th includes all of Hopkins, Muhlenberg, Ohio and Butler Counties.

34th — Democrat Michael Cope of Richmond filed to challenge Sen. Jared Carpenter, R-Berea, in the 34th Senate District which include Madison, Rockcastle and the Southern portion of Fayette County.

Cope ran in the Democratic primary in 2010 raising $8,530 with a good portion coming from his own pocket, but ultimately lost the nomination in a close three-way contest.

House of Representatives

9th — Democrat Mike Seiber of Earlington will run in the newly drawn 9th District that encompasses part of Christian County and a sliver of Hopkins County. Seiber is the Mayor of Earlington, population 1,400. Thanks to redistricting, two Republican incumbents are in that district: Rep. Myron Dossett of Pembroke and Rep. Ben Waide, R-Madisonville.

10th — Democrat Dean Schamore of Hardinsburg and Republican Alan Claypool of McDaniels have filed for the open 10th District seat in Hancock and Breckinridge Counties. The seat is open because of the retirement of Rep. Dwight Butler of Harned .

Claypool is the owner of a consulting firm TAC4 Solutions he also hosts TACKLE with TAC4 which aims at talking out political issues among opposing sides, such as this one on coal regulation from May.

Schamore is a former Navy Electronics Technician and operates Digital Connections Plus, a factory automation technology company.

19th — Democrat John Wayne Smith of Smiths Grove has filed to challenge Rep. Michael Meredith, R-Brownsville, in the newly formed 19th House District. The 19th now covers northern Warren and all of Edmonson County.

21st — Joe Choate, a Democrat from Munfordville, tossed his hat in the ring for the newly-drawn 21st House District against incumbent Republican Rep. Bart Rowland of Tompkinsville.

The district which includes Monroe, Metcalfe, Hart and the southern part of Hardin Counties, favors Republicans. But because of redistricting, the seat once held by current Agriculture Commissioner James Comer went from a slam dunk Republican district to slightly more competitive by subtracting Green and Cumberland counties and replacing them with Hart and southern Hardin.

Choate is an broker and auctioneer for the CW Real Estate and Auction Company.

36th — Jefferson County Metro Council member Jerry Miller has filed on the first day of the candidate filing period for the newly created eastern Jefferson County district.

The area which covers much of the suburbs east and northeast of the Gene Snyder Expressway should favor Republicans. Miller’s decision to leave the council to run for the House started a chain reaction in Jefferson County Republican politics as Pure Politics reported in September.

53rd — Two Democrats from Lawrenceburg have filed for the newly created district which includes Spencer, Anderson, and a portion of Bullitt County.

Former Rep. Kent Stevens formerly represented part of the district when it included Anderson, Mercer, and part of Spencer. But he lost after one term to Republican Rep. Kim King — will run for the 55th District that now includes Mercer, Washington and western Jessamine counties.

Also filing in the May 20 Democratic primary in the 53rd is Donna Crain Drury who ran as an independent for judge-executive in Anderson County in 2010.

89th — Democrat Joey Taylor II from East Bernstadt has filed his paperwork to run in the redrawn 89th which includes southern Madison, Jackson and Northern Laurel County.

Taylor just graduated this year from Eastern Kentucky University with a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice.

Republican Rep. Marie Rader of McKee currently represents the district.

91st — Cluster Howard a Democrat from Jackson has filed to take on Republican Rep. Toby Herald in the 91st. The district which includes Breathitt, Lee, Owsley and Estill counties plus eastern Madison Counties.

Howard is listed as the dean of student life for the Hazard Community and Technical College.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.