Bevin requests disaster declaration, Congressional delegation supports request

04/11/2018 03:46 PM

Gov. Matt Bevin is requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 35 Kentucky counties that were affected during severe weather in late February, a move backed by the entire Congressional delegation.

Bevin reportedly sent a letter to President Trump on Monday seeking the deceleration for the weather event which caused over $24.7 million in damages statewide, with 75 percent of that total related to highways, bridges and local infrastructure, the Bevin administration said in a news release.

“This requested Presidential Disaster Declaration will provide more than one-quarter of Kentucky’s counties with federal assistance as they recover from widespread severe storms and flooding in recent weeks,” Bevin said. “The Commonwealth has already experienced a challenging 2018 weather-wise, with these events coming on the heels of severe flooding across Eastern Kentucky in February. It has been inspiring to see Kentuckians come together to help their neighbors, and our hope is that this Declaration request will yield much-needed assistance for community residents and local governments across the state.”

On Tuesday, U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, Sen. Rand Paul, and Representatives Hal Rogers, R-Somerset, John Yarmuth, D-Louisville, Brett Guthrie, R-Bowling Green, Thomas Massie, R-Vanceburg, Andy Barr, R-Lexington, and James Comer, R-Tompkinsville, sent a letter to President Trump expressing their support for Bevin’s request for a federal disaster declaration for Kentucky.

They wrote, “From February 21 through March 21, 2018, the Commonwealth of Kentucky experienced a severe weather system that produced episodes of torrential rain, which caused tornadoes, flooding, landslides and mudslides…As the Governor conveyed in his letter, the Commonwealth has well surpassed the $6.3 million expenditure threshold required for consideration of federal disaster assistance…We ask for your timely consideration of the Governor’s disaster declaration request, which would aid Kentucky communities and families severely impacted by this most recent disaster.”

The following counties are included in the request: Boyd, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Christian, Crittenden, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Graves, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Jefferson, Kenton, Lawrence, Livingston, McCracken, McLean, Metcalfe, Ohio, Owen, Spencer, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Washington, and Webster.

Nick Storm

Nick Storm is the Anchor and Managing Editor of Pure Politics available exclusively on Spectrum News. Pure Politics is the only nightly program dedicated to Kentucky politics. Nick covers all of the political heavyweights and his investigative work brings to light issues that might otherwise go unnoticed, like his coverage of the backlog of DNA rape kits waiting to be tested in Kentucky. Nick is also working on a feature length bio documentary Outlaw Poet: A documentary on Ron Whitehead. Pure Politics airs weeknight at 7 and 11:30 on Spectrum News. Follow Nick on Twitter @NStorm_Politics. Nick can be reached at 502-792-1107 or


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.