Beshear inauguration to include former Govs. Fletcher and Brown among co-chairs

11/28/2011 04:45 PM

Democratic Gov. Steve Beshear is promoting his second inauguration as “frugal” and is including the last seven living governors as his honorary co-chairs.

That includes former Republican Gov. Ernie Fletcher, whom Beshear unseated in 2007, as well as former Democratic Gov. John Y. Brown, Jr., who refused the participate in Beshear’s 2007 inauguration.

Former Governors Wendell Ford, Julian Carroll, Martha Layne Collins, Brereton Jones and Paul Patton, all Democrats, will also serve as honorary co-chairs just as they did in 2007.

This year’s inauguration for Beshear and Lt. Gov.-elect Jerry Abramson is set for December 13, which events going from 8:30 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Most, if not all, of the events will be put on with private funds, Beshear’s office said in a news release. Beshear had previously said he would privately fundraise to put on the inauguration.

“We are very mindful of the current economic hardships across Kentucky as we plan this inauguration. We are looking at every possible way to be frugal,.” Beshear said in a statement. “The* vast majority of the cost of the inauguration will be covered by private funds.”

Beshear will start the day with worship service, followed by the inaugural parade. He and Abramson will be sworn in on the Capitol steps at 2 p.m.

A public reception will follow the swearing-in. And the day will end with a single inauguration ball in Frankfort.

Here is the full schedule:

  • 8:30 a.m. – Inaugural Worship Service, Frankfort Convention Center, non-denominational service open to the public. (Attendees are encouraged to bring toys or donations for the Kentucky National Guard’s Operation Military Cheer program.)
  • 10 a.m.- noon – Inaugural Parade, intersection of Wilkinson Boulevard and Broadway Street to the Capitol.
  • 2 p.m. – Swearing-in Ceremony, Capitol. Will be emceed by Gov. Beshear’s younger son, Andrew. Chief Justice John D. Minton Jr. presiding.
  • 3:30 p.m. – Public Inaugural Reception, Kentucky History Center, which is open to all inaugural visitors.

*8 p.m. – The Grand March, Capitol. Doors will open at 7 p.m.

9 p.m. – Governor’s Inaugural Celebration, Frankfort Convention Center. This is the only inaugural ball, which will be catered by Kentucky State Parks. Black tie optional. Doors will open at 7:30 p.m.

-Reporting by Kenny Colston


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.