Beshear brings back 2 couples to co-chair inauguration, taps two other business owners

11/16/2011 10:40 AM

Wade and Alice Houston of Prospect and Tracy and Carol Farmer of Midway will again head up Gov. Steve Beshear’s inauguration committee just like in 2007.

This time, though, they will be joined by Jim and Linda Booth of Inez. Jim Booth runs Booth Energy Group, a small coal mining company. Also serving as co-chairs will be Darrell and Lorna Littrell of Henderson. Darrell Littrell owns Sunron International, a tool and die company that specializes in plastic molds. And Lorna Littrell serves as Sunron’s chief financial officer.

The Houstons co-own Houston-Johnson Inc., a Louisville-based distribution and logistics company. Wade Houston serves as a member of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission. And Horse farm owner Tracy Farmer currently serves as vice chairman of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission.

The co-chairs seem to represent a wide swath of the coalition Beshear sought to put together during his 2011 campaign that includes coal interests, small business owners and the horse industry.

All eight of the co-chairs for the inauguration gave to Beshear and his running mate Jerry Abramson during the 2011 campaign.

Beshear told reporters that he plans to raise private funds for the inauguration event.

His 2007 committee raised and spent $900,000 in private funds. Casino and horse industry officials gave $120,000 of that to the committee shortly after Beshear’s win over then-Gov. Ernie Fletcher.

Beshear’s last inauguration had a Kentucky theme with participation from 120 counties. He also tapped former Govs. Wendell Ford, Julian Carroll, Martha Layne Collins, Brereton Jones and Paul Patton as honorary co-chair.

Just as in 2007, Lindy Karns will serve as the inauguration’s treasurer.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.