2012 Candidate Update: Incumbents re-file, new names for open 63rd and 53rd House Dists.

12/23/2011 08:47 AM

Diane St. Onge, a former Lakeside Park councilwoman, filed a letter of intent this week to begin raising money for the 63rd state House seat in Northern Kentucky, said her son, Richard.

The 63rd House district in northern Kenton County is being vacated by Republican Rep. Alecia Webb-Edgington of Fort Wright. Webb-Edgington announced she is running for the GOP nomination for Congress next year.

Another open seat in the state House next year is the 53rd district in southern Kentucky. It is being vacated by James Comer, a Republican who was elected Agriculture Commissioner in the November election. Comer will be sworn in Jan. 2, after which Gov. Steve Beshear can call a special election.

Freddie Harbison, a Republican from Edmonton who serves as athletics director for Metcalfe County High School, filed paperwork last week to run in the 53rd District.

He joins two other Republicans in the primary for the seat that includes Cumberland, Green, Metcalfe and Monroe counties. Charles Kirby Copas and Bart Rowland, both Tompkinsville Republicans previously filed.

State House

Eight incumbent state representatives turned in their paperwork this week to run for another term in 2012.

That includes the former House Speaker, Rep. Jody Richards, D-Bowling Green, who will be seeking his 19th two-year term. He joined the General Assembly in 1976.

Others filing for re-election this week include (first year in the General Assembly is in parenthesis):

  • Rep. Dennis Horlander, D-Louisville (1996)
  • Rep. Charles Miller, D-Louisville (1998)
  • Rep. Tim Couch, R-Hyden, (2003)
  • Rep. Dennis Keene, D-Wilder (2005)
  • Rep. Fitz Steele, D-Hazard, (2009)
  • Rep. Martha Jane King, D-Lewisburg (2009)
  • Rep. Rita Smart, D-Richmond (2011)

State Senate

Four Democratic incumbent senators have filed for re-election so far, including three this week.

  • Hopkinsville Sen. Joey Pendleton, who was first elected in 1992, is running for a sixth term.
  • Pikeville Sen. Ray Jones, who was first elected in 2000, is running for a fourth term.
  • Louisville Sen. Denise Harper Angel, first elected in 2004, is running for a third term.

Earlier in the month, Democratic Sen. Johnny Ray Turner of Drift in Floyd County filed to run for his fourth term.

The only other two senate candidates to file so far are two Republicans vying for the GOP nomination in the open 23rd District in Northern Kentucky: Chris McDaniel and Will Terwort.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.