2011 crop of freshmen lawmakers learn the legislative ropes

12/16/2010 07:08 PM

The 17 brand new lawmakers got their first taste of legislative life this week at the General Assembly’s freshman orientation seminar.

The group of new lawmakers includes 12 new state representatives and five freshmen senators. Five are women, the largest bunch to enter the legislature at one time since the freshmen class of 1995.

Underscoring what a Republican election year it was, 14 of the 17 newbies are from the GOP.

Here’s the Pure Politics report:

The five freshmen senators are:

  • Joe Bowen, R-Owensboro (defeated Democratic Sen. David Boswell in 8th District)
  • Dennis Parrett, D-Elizabethtown (defeated Republican Sen. Elizabeth Tori in 10th District)
  • Paul Hornback, R-Shelbybille (replaced retiring Republican Sen. Gary Tapp in 20th District)
  • Mike Wilson, R-Bowling Green (defeated Democratic Sen. Mike Reynolds in 32nd District)
  • Jared Carpenter, R-Richmond (replaced retiring Democratic Sen. Ed Worley in 34th District)

The 12 new representatives are:
  • F.L. “Ben” Waide, R-Madisonville (replaced retiring Democratic Rep. Eddie Ballard in 10th District)
  • Michael Meredith, R-Brownsville (defeated Democratic Rep. Dottie Sims in 19th District)
  • Julie Raque Adama, R-Louisville (replaced retiring Republican Rep. Scott Brinkman in 32nd District)
  • Wade Hurt, R-Louisville (replaced retiring Democratic Rep. Ron Weston in 37th District)
  • Mike Nemes, R-Louisville (defeated Democratic Rep. Tim Firkins in 38th District)
  • Sara Beth Gregory, R-Monticello (replaced retiring Republican Rep. Ken Upchurch in 52nd District)
  • Kim King, R-Harrodsburg (defeated Democratic Rep. Kent Stevens in 55th District)
  • Ryan Quarles, R-Georgetown (defeated Democratic Rep. Charlie Hoffman in 62nd District)
  • Donna Mayfield, R-Winchester (defeated Democratic Rep. Don Pasley in 73rd District)
  • Rita Smart, D-Richmond (replaced retiring Democratic Rep. Harry Moberly in 81st District)
  • Dewayne Bunch, R-Williamsburg (won GOP primary against Rep. Charlie Siler in 82nd District)
  • John Short, D-Hindman (replaced Democratic Rep. Ancel Smith in 92nd District after beating Smith in the May primary)

Rep. Terry Mills, D-Lebaonon, also has been participating in orientation, but he has been in the legislature for nearly a year after winning a special election to replace Jimmy Higdon, who moved up to the state Senate.

- Video and interviews by Kenny Colston, written by Ryan Alessi


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest political intelligence delivered to your inbox.