UK's 2013 Recruiting Class Nominated For McDonald's All-American Game

01/17/2013 09:39 AM

The nominees for the 2013 McDonald’s All-American Game were released today and, to no one’s surprise, all six of UK’s 2013 commitments were among the 800 players nominated. Andrew Harrison, Aaron Harrison, James Young, Marcus Lee and Dakari Johnson are expected to be named to the All-Star game.

Kentucky’s other incoming freshman, Bullitt East’s Derek Willis, was one of ten Kentucky high school players nominated by the committee. The others are William Gary (Dunbar), Taylor Glover (Pulaski County), Dominique Hawkins (Madison Central), Darryl Hicks (Trinity), Lavonne Holland (Ballard), Jack Whitman (Lexington Catholic), Omar Prewitt (Montgomery County), Mike Smith (Dunbar) and Rusty Troutman (Bullitt East).

The game will be played April 3 at the United Center in Chicago.

Thomas Beisner

TJ is an Anchor for Spectrum News. You can catch his work on KSTV, the only nightly show in the state focusing on UK Sports. When it comes to UK Basketball, TJ covers recruiting, the NCAA tournament and everything in between. During March TJ probably sees the players more than he sees his family but he’s able to provide Spectrum News viewers the unique insight that only a lifelong fan can give. He’s also taken on several special programs including “Wildcat Forever: The John Stewart Story.” KSTV airs weeknights at 7:30 and 11pm on Spectrum News. You can also catch podcasts of the show as well as bonus podcasts, just find KSTV on Itunes. For the latest on everything going on with UK Athletics, recruiting or if you just need some hilarious parenting anecdotes follow TJ on Twitter @tjbeisner.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest KSTV Sports info delivered to your inbox.