Jordan Jones and Benny Snell named to preseason award watch lists

07/10/2017 11:28 AM

Two of Kentucky football’s star players from last season, junior linebacker Jordan Jones and sophomore running back Benny Snell, have been named to preseason award watch lists.

Jones, who was Kentucky’s leading tackler last season, has been named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List. The Bednarik Award is presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year. Jones has already earned third-team preseason All-America honors by Athlon Sports and preseason first-team All-SEC honors by Athlon Sports and Southern Pigskin.

Snell, who is coming off of a historic freshman season, has been named to the Maxwell Award Watch list. The Maxwell award is given to America’s College Player of the Year. Snell set six Kentucky freshman records last season, including most rushing touchdowns in a game (4), most rushing yards by a freshman (1,091) and most rushing touchdowns by a freshman (13).

Semifinalists for both awards will be announced on October 30, 2017. The finalists will be announced on November 20 and then the winners will be announced on December 7.


Subscribe to email updates.

Subscribe and get the latest KSTV Sports info delivered to your inbox.